A Gluten-Free Journey

Image

One of our alumnae loves blogging. She’s written a post recently describing her experiences not being able to eat all the glutinous things that she formerly could. Here’s an excerpt:

So my cooking specialties have totally changed. I mastered the art of making French Macarons for Christmas and truffles for Valentine’s Day for coworker gifts. My standard dinner is a sauteed green with a legume or some non-glutinous grain. Given the abundance of root vegetables I receive in the winter from the twice-monthly produce delivery service I signed up for in December, I’ve added roasted parsnips and kohlrabi, mashed sweet potatoes, and winter squash soup to my culinary repertoire. My blender is my best friend at breakfast, and I’ll usually do some gluten-free hot cereal with fruit and nuts or an almond milk fruit smoothie with a protein powder (not eating meat regularly and not being able to consume vegetarian protein standards such as tofu, tempeh, and seitan reduces my available protein sources. So I’ll use a non-whey, soy-free, and gluten-free protein powder as a smoothie supplement. I still having trouble trying to get complete protein, all 9 amino acids, on a daily basis.)

It’s been a journey with its fair share of bumps along the way, and I still don’t feel as good as I think I can feel. But I think every day I’m getting a little bit closer to that esoteric concept of “wellness” that all the crazy hippies preach and that I’m starting, strangely enough, to believe.

Leave a Reply

